The Funeral


http://www.msmichelleyee.blogspot.com

http://facebook.com/reflectionsbymichelleyee

This poem is a reflection on my granny’s death (2 Sundays ago). I wrote this a few days later after her cremation service on 24th Sept…

The Funeral

I often wished it was merely a bad dream

But when I saw the body and her coffin, reality finally set in

I didn’t want to accept it, nor did I want to believe

For the fact that she has passed on, is too big a blow for me

My heart was wrenched, my eyes welled up, my mind was in a mess

Her body has suffered so much but now she can finally rest

Yet my biggest regret was I never got the chance or the courage to share Christ with her

But there’s no point in regretting, for now she is no longer here

I watch helplessly as I see her coffin go into the flaming fire

To her I said my final goodbye with reluctance and tears in my eyes

For although her body rests, her soul will never see paradise

One lesson I’ve finally learnt, as regrets fill this aching heart of mine

We never know when death will take our love ones away,

So Lord we ask for Your courage to help us share Christ with them today

Written by Michelle Yee

Serving with you in His Kingdom with love;

Princess Michelle –

Beloved Daughter of the Most High King

Leave a Reply

