Thoughts on Singlehood


Singlehood – A blessing or a curse? Well, that depends on yourself, how you want to define it. Singlehood, no matter which angle you may be looking from, it will have its pros and cons. Let’s take a look at them. Pros – You’re single, you can do whatever you want, whenever you want. You’re free to make your own decisions, your own plans at your own time. Cons – Well, you’ll be by yourself. You may not be able to understand or experience what it is like to be loved and cared for by another human being of a different gender, so close to you. Hey, but mind you, that’s a completely different kind of love from the one your parents give you. I’m talking about your second half – the man or woman that makes up the other part of you.

I’ve been single all my life, I’ve never dated anyone before, and like all other singles out there, I too, long for love. I long to have someone to hold me, to whisper sweet words in my ears, to have a shoulder to cry on whenever I’m down, someone to love and to be loved by. You may think that your friends can give you all these too, right? Well, that’s not wrong, but its just so different. It’s not wrong to want all these, is it? Yet, so often, I’ve heard people giving names to singles as being a social misfit/disgrace, useless, unwanted etc… But are all these true? I would say it’s rather unfair, speaking from a single woman point of view. We didn’t want for all these. Sure, there are women who chose to be single, but most of us are still looking out and waiting for our Prince Charming, well at least, I’m one of those. Maybe, it’s just that Mr. Right has not appeared yet. I’ve read of single women who are successful in their careers. They are independent, they don’t need men, they can pretty much survive on their own. I have girlfriends who are single and in their 40s doing very well, they never had a man in their lives too. So, who dares to say that singles are useless??? I beg to differ!!!!

Let us now, turn our eyes somewhere else for a moment, shall we? Let’s talk about those who are attached. I have girlfriends, who have had boyfriends after boyfriends, but they are not very happy either. They’ll tell me that, they’re tired of all those failed relationships, and they envy me for not needing to care about all these. If you are still thinking that being single is a terrible feeling, just wait till you get into a relationship, and start getting involve with another human being just as human as you are! Boy, will you be in for a lot of conflicts. I’ve been there and I know how it feels like… I met the wrong guy at the wrong time and suffered for 3 years in that “relationship”. It is better to be single and happy than to be with the wrong one and be unhappy.

So, what am I trying to say? Well, I guess I’m addressing mainly to the women out there. Hey, it’s really OK to be single, you are not alone, there’s nothing wrong with you. You can’t force love on yourself or on anyone else, it has to come naturally. Just wait and see and let nature take its course. God has said in the Bible in Gen 1:18 “It is not good for the man to be alone, I will make him a helper suitable for him”. In this context, “helper” is referred to as a companion. God will eventually bring him or her to you, just wait and see. Wait a minute, but what about those whom God has called to be single? Are there such cases? Yes, of course! I have a guy friend who is a pastor and is still single in his 40s, and he asked me this question one day, “What if, God has spoken to you and called you to be single?” Well, what if? Well then, so let it be. If it’s God’s will, don’t fight it, He probably has other plans for you in His mind. After all, He is God, He knows what’s best for us. For now, well, just enjoy the status of being single, but don’t give up on looking for your Mr or Mrs Right. He/she may just be somewhere out there waiting and looking for you too.

Blessings always

Serving with you in His Kingdom with love
Princess Michelle –
Beloved Daughter of the Most High King

(PS. Read my next blog on “Fishing” for true love, to find out about my views on dating)

3 thoughts on “Thoughts on Singlehood

  1. Pingback: Relationship Concerns For Men | Family & Relations Articles

  2. Pingback: Take place Polish Women Take care of Their Men As soon as Dating? | Family & Relations Articles

  3. Pingback: My love life. | Dear Diary, I'm alive.

Leave a Reply

